September Bounty Race Action

Well, it’s that time of the month….time for the Bounty Race at I-40 Dragway. Christina and I headed out in the early afternoon to go watch (and capture) some of the action on the track. I photographed, she ran the video camera, and I even tried out my new GoPro camera on Mike Farley’s new Pro Street Camaro. Jim and the crew had a great turnout of cars, and that made for some wild rides, as the competition was pretty fierce. The wildest ride of the night goes to Tim Kincaid and his twin turbo Mustang, which runs in the Pro Street class.

Byrd Photo

Tim Kincaid's Mustang after a wild wheelstand and a battle with the guard rail at I-40 Dragway.

While I was messing with the GoPro camera on Mike Farley’s car I heard Tim make his pass and heard lots of bad noises. The car went into a wheelstand, Tim backed out of the throttle for a moment, then back in it to keep it from slamming down. Instead of easing down from the wheelstand, the car went higher–he then lifted again and got back in it with the same result, only this time the car had drifted out of the groove. When the car came down it was on the guard rail, which caused a lot of damage. It ripped the left front tire/wheel/strut assembly off the car and also ripped off the oil filter, which made a big mess. Fortunately, Tim was uninjured, but he was understandably dejected. Here’s the video of the crash, captured by my wife!

Oh and just so you know, I didn’t get any pictures of the crash…UGH. More notable moments came in the form of wheelstands and wild rides. Heath Littrell went skyward in his new Pro Street Nova, and then got all sorts of sideways, crossing into the other lane, where Brad Shultis was having his own trouble getting down the track. After the sun went down, it got cold…way colder than I expected, as I stood there in my t-shirt and shorts, so we left a little early. Here are my pictures from the September Bounty Race…also check out our YouTube channel for all the videos!

Byrd Photo

Been a while since I've seen this car in action...Jeff Carpenter's nitrous fed Mustang.

Byrd Photo

Heath Littrell's Pro Street Nova launching with the wheels up!

Byrd Photo

Rick Wetherbee smokes the tires down track on this test pass.

Byrd Photo

Eventual Cheap Street winner, Tommy Hayes lays down a killer pass in the first round of qualifying. A big block Chevy powers the fox body coupe.

Byrd Photo

I usually don't shoot from the stands at I-40, but I wouldn't have been able to make it to the line to shoot these cars so I ran up to the top row. Pretty cool shot.

Byrd Photo

Randy Petet's turbocharged, big block Chevy powered Porsche is always fun to watch.

Byrd Photo

I love this car and I love this shot of it. Michael Newcome's small block powered Bounty car.

Byrd Photo

Tim Kincaid's burnout before his big wheelstand and crash.

Byrd Photo

A little grainy, but still a cool shot of Shane Stack's turbo Monte Carlo.

Byrd Photo

Mike Farley's new Camaro--hard to beat the looks of a bright red Camaro with a blown and injected big block!

Byrd Photo

Shane Goss lines up Brad Shultis for first round of eliminations....just thought this was a cool non-flash shot.

Byrd Photo

Josh Proffitt does a nice burnout.

Byrd Photo

Fellow photographer Wayne Holland ran his Chevelle in the 7.0 class.

Byrd Photo

Nothing like a good ole purge photo taken at night!

Leave a Reply

