Giving Thanks

I know the appropriate time for a post of this nature is in November, but it’s ok to give thanks any time of the year in my opinion. I’ve had a great year, and it’s time that I give credit where it’s due. I work a lot of hours, and try really hard to better myself with each and every article, or photo shoot, but I certainly can’t take all the credit for it. God has given me a wide range of talents that allow me to do what I love, and make a living doing it…not many people get that luxury. I have a great wife that takes care of me, and encourages me with everything I do, even when it means I’ll be cooped up in my office every evening after work. The magazine stuff and the books are written after I get home from my real job, so Christina deserves some credit for putting up with that on a VERY regular basis.

My parents deserve credit for providing a Christian environment during my childhood, and raising me to know right from wrong. My mom and dad still have a hard time with the fact that I no longer live with them, but that extreme amount of love is what made me who I am. I’ve always had a bunch of hobbies, and my parents always supported me, so that means a lot, and now that I’m getting a little older, it sheds light on what I need to do when I become a parent.

When it comes down to it, all of my thanks go to God, because without Him, none of this stuff is possible. I’ll admit that I don’t do a good enough job of glorifying Him, and that needs to change. I have so much to be thankful for, so I need to make more of an effort to keep God in the picture. In fact, I was just talking with Eric Gullett about a series of articles showcasing the rebuild of his drag car for the 2012 season. Of course we have sponsors to mention and people to thank, but he made sure that I include his love for God at some point in the articles. After all, God is the ultimate sponsor, because he gave his only Son for us, so that we could be saved. And for that, I could never thank Him enough, but I’ll definitely try. Here’s to 2012!

2 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. Its a pleasure to see your heart truly expressed here, Tommy. You do more than you know to exhibit God’s love for His creation. Your quiet demeanor and upbeat attitude reflect what words sometimes do not. Anyone can talk about it, living it requires much more. Keep it up, my friend.
    BTW got my new Car Craft in the mail. I enjoy seeing your work!

Leave a Reply

