A Much Needed Vacation

If you haven’t noticed, it’s been a while since I’ve posted, so I apologize. I’ve been slammed at work, and I’ve also been working hard to meet the 50 percent deadline on my new book, Abandoned Drag Strips. I met my deadline, so my wife and I celebrated with a trip to Jacksonville Beach, Florida. We actually planned the trip a few months ago, but it turned out to be great timing for this half-way point celebration. Anyway, we left from Dayton at about 6:30am on Wednesday so we’d have plenty of time to do stuff once we got to Florida. Jacksonville isn’t a huge destination for many people, but we love the area and had a very good time.

Byrd Photo

Our view from the hotel...Christina and I walked on this portion of the beach 4 years ago, just a few days after we were engaged.

The main goal of this vacation was to clear my mind, and try not to think too much about work or any of my freelance stuff. Fortunately, we had plenty of things planned, so we stayed fairly busy. We visited the Jacksonville Zoo, which was very nice, and ate a bunch of good food during out trip, including Dale Earnhardt Jr’s Whiskey River Bar and Grill. We also drove up to Amelia Island for a day of fun on what seemed to be a very lonely beach. We went to downtown Fernandina Beach and checked out the various shops, and ate a very good Mexican restaurant called Peppers. Good. Food.

Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

So proud of our G8 GT...it got 28mpg on the trip down, and after lots of riding around town, ended up with an average of 25.8mpg by the time we got home. Who would've thought a 360hp V8 could get that kind of mileage?

Thoughout all the fun, we watched the NASCAR qualifying races at Daytona, as well the Truck Series race, which were very exciting to watch. NASCAR’s new package for restrictor plate tracks seems to be working well, so we’ll see how it goes for the Daytona 500, which was unfortunately postponed because of rain. I guess I could go into detail about our trip, but I’ll let the pictures do the talking, and work my way back into reality.

Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

Lovely sunrise from our balcony. I miss the sound of the ocean.

Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

Scenes from the Jacksonville Zoo...we had lots of fun!

Tommy Lee byrd Photography

We loved the Giraffes!

Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

This bird was rockin' a killer handlebar mustache...

Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

Cool bridge in Jacksonville!

Byrd Photo

Christina and I standing on the lonely beach on Amelia Island. Lots of dead jelly fish on this beach...maybe that's why no one was in the water?

2 thoughts on “A Much Needed Vacation

Leave a Reply

