Coker Tire and Honest Charley Cruise In

I’ll start this blog by saying that I hate to take credit for something that was organized by a group of people, but I felt proud last Saturday, as the cars and people kept pouring into the Coker Tire and Honest Charley Cruise In. It was cool to see an event I organized succeed, even with a serious threat for rain in the forecast. With just a couple months of planning we were able to get nearly 500 cars, and well over 1,000 people to see what Coker Tire is all about. Obviously, I didn’t do it alone, as I had the entire Coker Marketing Department backing me, as well as co-workers like Eric Gullett, Joe Lombardo and many others who spent their Saturday working, instead of relaxing.



Last fall, the first Coker and Honest Charley Cruise In was a last minute decision, and we still had a great turnout, with more than 250 cars surrounding the Coker compound in downtown Chattanooga. For the spring event, we planned for a bigger crowd, and we got it…nearly doubling our previous turnout. The event went without a hitch and we plan to have another one in the fall. The tentative date is September 29th, 2012.

For the spring Cruise In, I spent most of my time chatting it up with friends that made an effort to come out and support the event. I photographed the event, and shot a couple of video clips as well, but the majority of my time was spent mingling with the crowd. I was completely surprised (and pleased) by the amount of traditional hot rods in attendance…I’m hoping this becomes a regular destination for the hot rod guys in this area. To sum it up, I’m glad to be a part of the Coker Tire and Honest Charley Cruise In and I hope it continues to grow. I also hope to start having an event of my own, maybe sometime in October. We’ll see how that goes, but for now, take a look at some of my favorite shots, and CLICK HERE to view the entire gallery.

Leave a Reply

