Show and Go Spring 2012!

Time sure does fly when you’re on the go 24/7! Seems like it was just a few weeks ago that I went down to Paradise Drag Strip for the Show and Go event, but it’s that time of year again. This year, the Show and Go came the day after the Strawberry Festival Cruise In, so it definitely made for a packed weekend for me.

Paradise Show and Go

Gotta love front engine dragsters! This one is super simple and very cool!



Paradise Show and Go

Need trim???

I usually head down to Calhoun pretty early, but this time, I just had to get some rest, so I slept in for a few extra minutes. I arrived at lunch time, and made a quick pass through the swap meet, which was as big as I’ve ever seen it. Then I made my way to trackside, so I could grab some pictures of the action on the historic drag strip. In case you didn’t know, Paradise has been open since ’61 and it’s a perfect place to have a nostalgia drag meet, such as the Show and Go.

Paradise Show and Go

Mis-matched wheels and skinny slicks on a GTO…love it!

Paradise Show and Go

I’ve seen a million of ’em but ’32 Fords are still cool. Especially when they look like this.

Paradise Show and Go

Shannon Medley’s ’55 yanking the left front as it leave the line!

Anyway, I took a few pictures and then walked the pits to see what I could find. While I roamed the pits, a car oiled the left lane severely, but I didn’t know the extent of the damage until I followed the trail of oil back to the car’s pit area. As it turns out, a small block Chevy had puked its guts onto the track and completely filled the oil pan with parts.

Paradise Show and Go

Pretty cool Plymouth gasser making a pass down the historic track.

Paradise Show and Go

Yet another one of Robert Killian’s hot rods. It makes crazy power with a 8-71-blown 502 big block Chevy….this was the first time I’ve seen it with slicks.

Paradise Show and Go

This Chevy II wagon always leaves with the front wheels in the air….great for pictures!

By the time the track crew cleaned up the mess, it was time for me to head out to an appointment at Injected Engineering, just down the road in Kennesaw, Georgia. There, I’d be shooting a tech piece with our Pontiac G8 GT, so I had to skeedaddle. You’ll see more about the G8 later. For now, enjoy the pictures!

Paradise Show and Go

Josh Flammer’s awesome Deuce five-window leaving the line. This thing is VERY fast, running 6.70s with a slipping clutch and admittedly slow shifting.

Paradise Show and Go

’55 Chevy gassers are so cool. I’d love to build one…

Paradise Show and Go

I gotta say that I like ’55 Chevys like this too! I can’t help but like some of the more clean Pro Street cars like this one.

Paradise Show and Go

Diesel trucks aren’t really “my thing” but this one is pretty cool. It pulled the wheels when it left the line and ran way into the 6’s, so it’s cool with me.

Paradise Show and Go

Whoops! That hole shouldn’t be there! And this is the good side…

Paradise Show and Go

At least now he can check his oil without using the dipstick!

Paradise Show and Go

These things are supposed to be inside the engine. Name the parts!

Leave a Reply

