Time Is A Valuable Thing

There comes a time in everyone’s life when they think they’re busy. They have to run errands on their lunch break, or they have to skip something “fun” in order to do something necessary. Well, I gotta say that I’m lucky that most of my necessary doings are somewhat fun. However, I’m ready to slow down for a minute, so that life doesn’t pass me by.

Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

These two cars patiently await some much-needed work, but it looks like it’ll be a while before I can spend some time with them.


Lately, time has gone by incredibly fast. I sometimes forget what month it is, because I’m in such a vicious routine of tasks, which makes everyday the same as the one before. This isn’t a high quality of life, but it’s what I’ve gotten myself into…so I guess I need to work my way out of this hectic lifestyle and figure out a way to slow down and pay attention to life. If I continue this pace, I’ll have no recollection of my 20’s, aside from about 87 billion photographs. Of course, I’ve brought this on myself, combining my “real job” with what I really want to do, which is magazine work. Oh, and then I decided to write a book in 2010. Finished that one after 10 months of extremely strenuous work and decided to write another one! What is wrong with me???

Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

If I had more time for this type of stuff, I’d make some progress on my many projects!

So with my schedule in mind, it’s easy to see why none of my project cars get any traction. Especially in crunch time for the book, I can literally concentrate on nothing else. Freelance work gets put aside for a few weeks, the vehicles don’t get washed, the yard doesn’t get mowed enough, and the list of postponed projects goes on. I get up at 6:15 every morning, and go to bed at midnight or later during crunch time. So, to say that I’m ready for this book to be complete would be a major understatement. I’ve poured every ounce of my available time and effort into it, and I’m finally on the home stretch.

I’m not sure how my wife handles it, but she supports me in every way. She gets frustrated with my work-aholic attitude, but in the end, she is always supportive and proud of my work. So as I sit here for 15 minutes writing this blog, I’m thinking about all of the things that I NEED to be doing. I’m very, very close to my deadline on the abandoned drag strips book, and I’m absolutely covered up with events this month. I have Chevell-Abration coming up this weekend, then the Hot Rod Reunion in Bowling Green, Kentucky the next weekend. After that, I’m heading out on the Great Race for nearly two weeks at the end of the month.

Alright, that’s enough complaining. No time for that…I need to get to work!

Leave a Reply

