The NSRA Street Rod Nationals 2012

Always one of the biggest events of the year, the NSRA Street Rod Nationals in Louisville, Kentucky is a must-go for folks in the hot rod industry. This year is no different, as more than 10,000 street rods poured into the fairgrounds for a weekend of the same stuff they did last year. With that in mind, it’s tough to find fresh, new cars to shoot, so the idea is to walk each and every isle to find the new stuff.

NSRA-Street-Rod-Nationals

Since the NSRA opened up its limitations on model year, the show has improved in my opinion. It allows cars like this awesome Chevy II gasser into the show…even though it technically isn’t a street rod.


NSRA-Street-Rod-Nationals

I like to see hot rods cruising the fairgrounds. Sitting in the same spot all weekend doesn’t seem like much fun.

This year’s Nats experience was rather short for me. A left over hotel room gave me a place to stay for one night, so I blasted out of Tennessee early Friday morning and made my way to the fairgrounds. I found a few cars to shoot, so I got that out of the way, and then got a few generic shots of the event. Saturday morning, I got up at 6am and went back to fairgrounds to watch cars roll in…it was nice to hang out for a couple hours with no pressure to get any work done, even though I spent that time blowing up the Coker Tire and Honest Charley Facebook pages with cool iPhone pictures. So, now that I’m back home and resting up for another week of work, take a look at my favorite cars from the 2012 NSRA Street Rod Nationals!

NSRA-Street-Rod-Nationals

If I were to ever build a pre-war hot rod, this is exactly what it would look like. A super simple Model A coupe with a killer engine and black steel wheels. There is nothing I dislike about this car….besides the fact that it isn’t sitting in my garage.

NSRA-Street-Rod-Nationals

Wild colors, tinted lexan and cool hand-lettering…good stuff.

NSRA-Street-Rod-Nationals

My buddy Josh Kaylor made the drive from Dayton, Tennessee in his bright yellow ’47 International. He has put a bunch of miles on this thing in the past 6 years or so.

NSRA-Street-Rod-Nationals

I’m sure the street rod purists were cringing when they saw this slammed pickup. It’s actually really nicely-done and has an LS1 under the hood, so I’m cool with it.

NSRA-Street-Rod-Nationals

This is the ideal Henry J setup in my opinion. It doesn’t sit ridiculously high, and it just has a killer attitude. Surprisingly, it was reasonably priced at $12,500.

NSRA-Street-Rod-Nationals

Anytime I see magnesium wheels in a swap meet, I stop to take a look. According to the owner, there were only 10 sets of these webbed spoke wheels built. When something is that rare, you can pretty much name your own price.

NSRA-Street-Rod-Nationals

Doing the Saturday morning hustle to find a parking spot…

NSRA-Street-Rod-Nationals

I almost walked right past this Chevy pickup without noticing its coolness. The stance is just right, and I like the off-white bumper and grille. Wonder what it would look like with off-white wheels?

NSRA-Street-Rod-Nationals

Yet another non-street rod that caught my eye was this ’65 Biscayne two-door post. I love it when a stripped-down base model car has a big engine, and this one sported an aluminum-headed big block.

NSRA-Street-Rod-Nationals

Chad Adams and his crew build more than 10 hot rods a year. Most of them are ’32 Ford roadsters, and he seems to have a pretty good system when it comes to building, marketing and selling these cars. He just finished this one and sold it almost immediately, but I was able to grab a few pictures of it for Coker Tire’s marketing purposes. I love the stance and color combination!

3 thoughts on “The NSRA Street Rod Nationals 2012

Leave a Reply

