The Chattanooga Cruise In

Man, September wore me out. The last weekend of the month didn’t require much traveling but it was still a great deal of work. I had spent months planning and promoting the Chattanooga Cruise In (formerly known as the Coker Tire and Honest Charley Cruise In) and it was time to see if the hard work paid off. I woke up and looked out the window to see cloudy skies, and rainfall…not good.

Chattanooga Cruise In Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

I never pass up the opportunity to take nighttime pictures in front of the Honest Charley store front.

Regardless of the dreary conditions, I drove the Corvette (still sporting the slicks) and Christina drove her Camaro. According to the weather report, the skies were supposed to clear, so I still had high hopes. When we arrived at Coker, it was a few ticks before 11am, and we were beaten to the punch by about a dozen cars. The event didn’t actually start until 2pm, so I took that as a good sign.

Chattanooga Cruise In Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

I’m glad my brother was able to make it down to the Cruise In in his slammed ’64 Impala. He always has a project going on, but it’s cool that he has a good driver.

Chattanooga Cruise In Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

I’m not really a Cadillac guy, but this one is way cool.

Chattanooga Cruise In Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

The Dempsey’s came from Whitwell for the Cruise In, and brought their whole crew from “the valley”. Mark drives the black ’56 and his wife drives the silver ’69 Camaro. Out of the frame is their son Justin’s slick big block Nova.

Cars continued rolling into the area for the next 4 hours straight, until we literally ran out of room. It was overwhelming, but exciting at the same time. By the time all of the cars rolled in, many of the early arrivals had left, so it was sort of a revolving door of old cars and trucks. The result was more than 700 vehicles on hand for the September Chattanooga Cruise In. Time seemed to fly by and before I knew it, the crowd had begun head out.

Chattanooga Cruise In Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

My buddy Kyle made it down in his newly-finished LS-powered Mustang. I kinda want to buy it…like I need another project.

Chattanooga Cruise In Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

I really like the mix of satin and gloss on Josh Kaylor’s ’57 four-door. Josh and I went to high school together, and eventually worked together at Buckaroo Communications…oh, the good ol’ days.

Chattanooga Cruise In Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

The size of the event surprised a lot of people…including me. Lots of very cool stuff!

Chattanooga Cruise In Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

My dad’s band, The Other Guys, provided the live entertainment. That’s him in the red hat, playing the upside down, left-handed bass.

Overall, I couldn’t be happier with the turnout of the event, but I wish there was more time to talk to all the people that I personally invite to these deals. Either way, we plan to do more of these cruise in events in 2013, so I’m hoping it continues to grow! For now, take a look at my favorite shots from the September 2012 event. Click HERE for the full gallery!

Chattanooga Cruise In Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

The gold Model A came all the way from Cincinnati, Ohio for the Cruise In, and the little flat black roadster pickup came from the Atlanta area. Both rolling on Coker Tires!

Chattanooga Cruise In Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

After the door prize drawings, the size of this event really sunk in.

Chattanooga Cruise In Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

I really liked this motorcycle…a good combination of colors and a good stance.

By dark, the only vehicles left were mine, along with a few folks from Georgia, who wanted to take some pictures in front of the awesome Honest Charley store front. The darkness and neon signage made for some great shots, and I enjoyed hanging out with the guys while we played around with different car placement and angles.

Chattanooga Cruise In Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

From left to right: Kevin King’s Deuce Vicky, Justin Sears’ ’65 Chevelle and Jonathan Forrester’s ’70 C-10 stepside.

Chattanooga Cruise In Tommy Lee Byrd Photography

Kevin King’s ’32 looks awesome under the lights. Kevin couldn’t actually make it to the event because of health issues, but his friend Jason Murrell brought it to Chattanooga for him.

One thought on “The Chattanooga Cruise In

  1. Pingback: Taking a Break from Vacation | byrdphoto

Leave a Reply

