Taking a Break from Vacation

The past few months have been wall-to-wall action for me, including a very special weekend that should have been used as an anniversary trip. Instead, I worked all weekend at LS Fest, covering the event for Super Chevy magazine. Have I mentioned how much car stuff my wife puts up with? Anyway, she went to Bowling Green with me but it was by no means an anniversary trip. So, we decided to take the next available weekend and turn it into our little vacation. Somehow, I managed to squeeze a drag racing event into that vacation, too!

Atlanta Speed Shop 10,000 nostalgia drag race

Robert Killian brought out his 2,000hp Model A (Uncle Jed) and made a few 7 second quarter mile passes.

Atlanta Speed Shop 10,000 nostalgia drag race

I spotted this funny car body sitting on the side of the road and just had to turn around to take a few pictures. It turned out to be Whit Bazemore’s Fast Orange body from the early ’90s.

Our vacation involved a four-day stay in Blue Ridge, Georgia, which has a bunch of cool cabins in the surrounding area. Remind me to always ask if the cabin is on a gravel road, because our G8 pretty much hated its life during out stay. To be perfectly honest, Blue Ridge is a small town, and it gets a little boring after a few days, so we decided to take a break from vacation and check out the Atlanta Speed Shop $10,000 nostalgia drag race.

Atlanta Speed Shop 10,000 nostalgia drag race

It was exciting to see Quain Stott’s incredible ’41 Willys gasser in attendance. This thing runs low 6’s in the eighth and has the most simple-looking small block Chevy you’ll ever see. AND it’s a four-speed.

Atlanta Speed Shop 10,000 nostalgia drag race

I see this Henry J gasser all over the place, at various nostalgia drag races….it’s a cool piece.

The drive from Blue Ridge to Atlanta Dragway (Commerce, GA) was a bit lengthy, but the scenery was great! Until we got to Gainesville. There, I would receive a memorable souvenir, thanks to my heavy right foot. Apparently, the Gainesville Police Department doesn’t take too lightly to out-of-towners speeding through their town. As it turns out, this vacation cost me $416 more than I expected.

Atlanta Speed Shop 10,000 nostalgia drag race

As I sat on the side of the road in Gainesville, waiting for my ticket to be written, this guy goes rumbling by in his blown and injected Challenger. I figured he was headed to Commerce and later saw the car sitting in the pits.

Atlanta Speed Shop 10,000 nostalgia drag race

I always enjoy seeing Henry J’s at the drag strip, and this is the first time I’d seen this particular car in person. All the hand-lettering was really cool!

Annnnnnyway, we finally made it to the nostalgia race and hung around for a few hours, watching the racing, rummaging through the swap meet and talking with friends. I had the pleasure of meeting Kevin King, a fellow that I had communicated with on Facebook, but never actually met. If you saw my blog about the Chattanooga Cruise In, then you saw pictures of his very cool ’32 Ford Vicky that I photographed in front of Honest Charley Speed Shop. Kevin is a car guy just like me, and he’s battling cancer, but the doctor cleared him to go out and do whatever he wants as long as he feels like it. We talked about everything from hot rods to tractor pulling and everything in between. It was great to meet him.

Atlanta Speed Shop 10,000 nostalgia drag race

I just love front engine dragsters, especially when they sit really low.

Atlanta Speed Shop 10,000 nostalgia drag race

This scares me.

Atlanta Speed Shop 10,000 nostalgia drag race

Super clean Mopar making a pass…

After it all was said and done, we made a pit stop at Christina’s parents’ house and then headed back to our cabin in Blue Ridge to resume our vacation. Now I guess I need to pay this ticket and schedule our next vacation, which will undoubtedly have a car show or drag race somewhere in the mix.

Atlanta Speed Shop 10,000 nostalgia drag race

This Maverick is completely awesome…I want to see how they stuffed a Boss 429 engine into a car that will barely contain a small block!

Atlanta Speed Shop 10,000 nostalgia drag race

Speaking of Boss 429, that’s what is under the tilt front end of this wicked ’57 Ford gasser. This thing is ridiculously fast and has all the right stuff….magnesium wheels, tinted lexan, white headers, etc.

Atlanta Speed Shop 10,000 nostalgia drag race

One of the most contemporary cars in the show area was this ’68 Nova. I love the stance and the tire/wheel combination, and this car has a super slick black cherry paint job.

Leave a Reply

