Where Did I Go?

Wow, it has been almost 8 months since I’ve posted a blog here. That is ridiculous and I apologize to anyone who actually enjoyed reading my posts. I hoped that I wouldn’t drop the ball on this blog, but it appears that life got in the way and I simply didn’t have time to keep up. I’ll do my best to stay on top of this, but a lot has happened in the past 8 months to take my mind off of rambling for no apparent reason.

The first and most significant change in my life was the birth of my first child, Carlee. She has been (and will continue to be) a huge blessing in our lives, and I enjoy each and every day that I can spend with her. Unfortunately, my work schedule, along with events and a new book project, have kept me from spending a lot of time with her. I cherish every minute I can get with her, knowing that time will go by very quickly. And it has…she is going to be eight months old at the end of October. She’s cheerful and most importantly, she’s healthy, aside from a few food intolerances.

So, I mentioned a new book project. I flat out told my guy at CarTech that I was not interested in doing any more books in the near future, but he provided an opportunity that I could not refuse. The book is in conjunction with Detroit Speed, and it’s based on Pro Touring cars, so it was a great chance to work with a very good company. The book will likely debut in fall of 2014, and I’m up to my eyeballs trying to meet the deadlines. My day job greatly interferes with progress on the book, but I take full responsibility for taking on a project of this nature. It requires many late nights to get it done. My wife hates it.

Along with that, I’ve had a busy show and drag racing season, hopping all over the country to cover all sorts of events and find things worthy of featuring in magazines. That’s enough work for a full time job, but I somehow squeeze it into my evenings and weekends. All of this work-related stuff results in zero time to work on project cars, which makes me sad. I still have a million ideas floating around in my head, but absolutely no time to make ANY of it a reality. I fully understand why it sometimes takes a guy 20 years to build a car.

In the next couple of months, I have a pretty intense schedule that includes another trek to Bowling Green, Kentucky (my fourth trip to BG this year), a plane ride to Las Vegas for the SEMA Show, and one of my favorite events of the year, Draggin’ for Toys at the freshly-resurfaced Brainerd Optimist Drag Strip. Along with all of these events and tasks, I really want to take the time to enjoy Carlee’s first Halloween, her first Thanksgiving and her first Christmas. Let’s just hope that I can juggle all of this and still manage to find enough time to blog about all of my adventures.

Leave a Reply

